Emergency Medicine EMS Fellowship

Advanced Degree: no
ACGME Accredited: yes
Length of Fellowship: 1 year
Start:  July 1
Number of Positions: 2


The Emory Section of Prehospital and Disaster Medicine is inviting applications for its ACGME accredited fellowship in Emergency Medical Services (EMS). Successful graduates who also meet the eligibility criteria defined by ABEM and who pass the subspecialty examination are recognized as being certified in the subspecialty of EMS. Emergency Medical Services (EMS) is a medical subspecialty that involves prehospital emergency patient care, including initial patient stabilization, treatment, and transport to hospitals. The purpose of EMS subspecialty certification is to standardize physician training and qualifications for EMS practice, improve patient safety and enhance the quality of emergency medical care provided to patients in the prehospital environment, and facilitate further integration of prehospital patient treatment into the continuum of patient care.


Faculty and fellows provide medical oversight for 911 communications centers, fire-based first responders, and ground and air ambulance services in the metro Atlanta area, including Grady EMS, the emergency ambulance service for the City of Atlanta, which processes over 95,000 requests for service and transports over 70,000 patients per year.  Its Biosafety Transport Team supports CDC, the Emory University Hospital Serious Communicable Disease Unit and Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport for transport of patients that pose a serious communicable disease risk. Services are also actively engaged in critical care transport and mobile integrated healthcare initiatives.


Faculty and fellows contribute to the EMS educational experience of the Emory emergency medicine residency program and host a medical student elective. Initial and continuing education is provided for paramedics and EMTs in the greater metro Atlanta area.  In collaboration with Emory’s Office of Critical Event Preparedness and Response (CEPAR), the Section serves the community as a regional National Disaster Life Support Training Center. 


Emory is home to the Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival (CARES). CARES was developed to help communities determine standard outcome measures for out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA) locally allowing for quality improvement efforts and benchmarking capability to improve care and increase survival. CARES currently has a catchment of over 80 million US residents. The Section also collaborates with Emory’s Emergency Medicine Research Center to facilitate investigations of the Neurological Emergencies Treatment Trials (NETT) network, and the Emory Center for Critical Care, exploring early detection of severe sepsis in the out-of-hospital setting.

Contact Us

For more information about any of Emory’s Emergency Medicine EMS Fellowship, please contact:


Alexander Isakov, MD, MPH