About Us

em group photo

Emergency Medicine became an autonomous academic department within the School of Medicine in 1998. The first Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine was Arthur Kellermann, MD, MPH, now professor and Dean of the F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.  Katherine L. Heilpern, MD was named the Ada Lee and Pete Correll Professor and Chair in 2007.


We hold as our core purposes the delivery of outstanding prehospital and emergency care, advancement of science through groundbreaking translational and public health research, leadership in innovation and delivery of state-of-the-art education to a diverse group of trainees and communities. 


The Emory Department of Emergency Medicine will be the national and international leader in prehospital and emergency care, known for compassionate patient-centered and family-centered care; distinctive and collaborative scholarly activities that advance the health and educational needs of the communities we serve; outstanding faculty, staff and trainees who embrace diversity and inclusion and promote interdisciplinary partnerships to advance the public’s health.

  • We value diversity and inclusion.
  • We promote professional growth, development and opportunity.
  • We value creativity, intellectual curiosity, innovation, critical thinking, and diffusion of knowledge.