EM Faculty Cited at 2017 School of Medicine Recognitions Event

The Emory School of Medicine's Fourth Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Ceremony and Reception, held on October 18, honored faculty who have reached new heights in their careers through promotion; achievements in research, clinical care, or teaching and menoring; or regional, national and international awards. 

Emergency Medicine faculty receiving regional and national awards this year were Dr. Lekshmi Kumar for Medical Director of the Year, Region III EMS, and Dr. Todd Taylor, Junior Faculty Teaching Award, American College of Emergency Physicians.

Dr. Andrew Pendley was recognized as a 2017 "Hidden Gem." Hidden Gems are nominated by their departments in recognition of their outstanding, but often unnoticed or unrecognized, contributions to Emory or beyond. EM Chair Dr. Kate Heilpern's nomination noted  that Dr. Pendley is "…now Medical Director for arguably the most clinically challenging emergency department in the Emory system. Despite enormous challenges, Andy has developed an outstanding team of physicians and created novel means of providing care to improve their experience.”   

Drs. Douglas Ander and David Wright were mentoring award finalists.

Drs. Bryan McNally and  David Wright were promoted to Professor;  Drs.  Jeremy  Ackerman,  Bijal Shah,  Matt  Wheatley and  Melissa  White have been promoted to Associate Professor.