Dr Alex Isakov receives NAEMSP 2016 Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award

The National Association of EMS Physicians has named Alex Isakov, MD, MPH, the recipient of this year’s Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award, recognizing his work to improve the EMS community’s preparedness and competency to manage and transport patients with serious communicable diseases, and his leadership at NAEMSP and nationally on this subject.

Dr. Isakov is Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Director of Prehospital & Disaster Medicine at Emory. In 2015 he received the Georgia EMS Region III Medical Director of the Year Award and the Dr. Zeb L. Burrell Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award. The Grady EMS Biosafety Transport Team, led by Dr. Isakov, was recognized by the Atlanta Business Chronicle with its Healthcare Hero Award for Allied Health Professionals in recognition of their transport of the first patients with Ebola Virus Disease in the United States. He was recently appointed to the American College of Emergency Physician's (ACEP) Epidemic Expert Panel and elected to the Board of Directors for the National Association for EMS Physicians.