Drs. Douglas Ander and Nicole Franks Named to 2017 Woodruff Leadership Academy

The Department of Emergency Medicine will be represented by two distinguished faculty members, Dr. Douglas Ander, MD, FACEP, and Dr. Nicole Franks, MD, in the 2017 class of the Woodruff Leadership Academy.

Dr. Franks is an Associate Professor of EM and Chief Quality Officer for Emory University Hospital Midtown. After completing her MD at Morehouse School of Medicine and an EM residency at Emory, she joined the EM faculty in 2002. Among her previous honors are membership in the L.E.A.D. Atlanta Inaugural Class, and recognition as one of the Atlanta Business Chronicle’s Up and Comers Top 40 under 40 and a Spelman College Health Careers Program Honoree.

The recipient of numerous teaching awards, Dr. Ander is a Professor of Emergency Medicine and Director of the department’s Medical Student Program and its Student Clerkship. He is also Assistant Dean for Medical Education of the Emory School of Medicine and Director of the SOM’s Emory Center for Experiential Learning (ExCEL).

Dr. Ander joined the Emory University School of Medicine faculty in 1996. He received his MD at Hahnemann University School of Medicine and completed his emergency medicine and internal medicine residency at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit.

The WLA program elects about twenty researchers, physicians, educators and managers in the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center to annual Leadership Academy fellowships. Fellows participate in classroom sessions, team projects and weekend retreats “to develop, exercise, and strengthen individual leadership potential.”